1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Networks Smoothwall vs. Wingate

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Adam, 22 Mar 2002.

1. Adam

Adam Minimodder

I currently share my AOL 56k connection through wingate to 5 other computers. What is was wondering is whether smoothwall has any advantages over wingate, if not what is the point in dedicating a whole computer? Sorry if I'm being ignorant, I'm new to networking.

2. bee2643

bee2643 What's a Dremel?

LOL, what are you doing sharing a 56k connection with 5 computers anyways, bahahaha
    especially an AOL one
    rofl

3. Adam

Adam Minimodder

First off I like AOL because I can always connect, and once connected it usually stays that way for upwards of 20 hours! The only ISP I have found that comes close to that is demon, which is more than twice the price. AOL is fast too. The only problem is the software, which I can learn to live with.

About the 5 computers thing, usually only 1 machine is accessing the net at any one time so it's not a problem.

4. Tim S

Tim S OG

I agree... AOL is very good for uptime... very few reconnects :)

5. dakar

dakar What's a Dremel?

I don't know that anyone has been 100% sucessful in getting Linux to connect to A-o-Hell. They made a lot of changes lately, like assigning a real IP address to dialups so things may have changed dramatically for the Linux world.
    And I've never even considered using them so i can't say.

However to make a good comparison between the two you'd have to be more specific as to what you were looking to improve on.... security - get windoze off the front end! WinGate has been sucessfully cracked time and time again, very poorly written.
    Performance - Linux will win hands down even over a lowly dialup. Ineternet game play and the like follows suit as well...