1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Stealth HTPC Case - Update 16th March

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Tris, 4 Mar 2009.

1. Tris

Tris What's a Dremel?

Hi All,

Thought I'd post a little log of the HTPC case I am currently working on. This is my first attempt at a project of this scale, and thus my first work log (although i have been lurking about on bit-tech for some time).

Basically, I decided a little while ago that I really _needed_ a HTPC. I came up with the spec I wanted (thanks in no small part to bit-tech reviews) and started happily buying bits. When I came to the case, I couldn't find anything of the right kind of size that wasn't either hideous or hideously expensive....so made the decision to try and make it myself.

This isn't a build thats going to blow anyones mind, but then it's not meant to. The whole idea is to create something small, unobtrusive and (hopefully!) classy looking.

The Guts:

J&W Minix mini-itx mobo
    AMD Athlon AM2 e4850
    2gig Crucial SO-DIMM
    OCZ 30gig SSD
    Sony notebook dvd drive
    Zalman CNPS7000C Cooler
    PicoPSU 100w

I've had these components for a couple of months now without having time to start on this project, so I actually buckled and hooked it all up, and have been running it on an old motherboard tray for a couple of weeks. Works like a charm, but looks a state. :blush:

[​IMG]
    Initial state, sitting on an old mobo tray under my TV.

The Plan:

Well, as it's my first attempt at making a case from scratch, it follows that it's also my first time with sketchup. I spent more time than I really had trying to figure out how to use this to do a full on perfect design, but after a while I gave up and went with a "just get your ideas down" approach. :D As you can see, I have gone with a really simple design for this, trying to leave as little to go wrong as possible. :p

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]