1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding Suggestions on relocating rear ports?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Cyric, 5 Feb 2004.

1. Cyric

Cyric What's a Dremel?

Nice board you guys (and gals?) have here! This is my first post and I wanted to say hi! I'm a complete noob so please bear with me.

Now to the question:

Say you wanted to put you're box in the closet. Okay, so how would you extend your wires through the wall and have all of the ports flush mounted on the wall like a telephone jack? If anyone has some creative suggestions I'd love to hear them. Also keep in mind that I'm on a budget (aren't we all).

It seams to me that all of the pre-fab solutions out there are "sit on the top of your desk" type things. What I'm going for is a clean "it is meant to be there" look. Also none of the pre-fabs are 100% complete, you get audio but not video, video but not usb and lan, ect...

Thanks in advance!

2. theagent

theagent What's a Dremel?

my suggestion is to by extenders for the various parts you want. i built my computer in a treasure chest and, instead of cutting a hole for each PCI card and the motherboard ports, i bought extensions. you can buy usb, ethernet, VGA [video] and ps2 extentions at quite a few sites, plus you could mod a phone jack to hold a few of them [with the female port in the jack of course]

could be kinda cool :)

3. Langer

Langer Jesse Lang

Buy extenders for each of the plugs you will require and run them through the wall (use an insulater, just in case). Cut a hole in your wall and buy some plastic, or aluminum and cut out the various shapes for the ports you want. mount all of this to your wall and *voila* your done.

4. Cyric

Cyric What's a Dremel?