1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Equipment Tablet for an Art student

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by Cookie Monster, 5 Nov 2023.

1. Cookie Monster

Cookie Monster Multimodder

My daughter is on an Art course at college and has expressed an interest in drawing on a tablet. I spoke with a designer I used to work with who is a huge Apple fanboi, so obviously his recommendation was an iPad Pro.

She has no desire to own a PC and often used her mams 2012 MacBook Pro.

Does anyone have any recommendations?

2. veato

veato I should be working

I used to plug a Wacom Bamboo Fun (basic old one without a screen) into my old Mac for photo editing and really liked it. Think the newer/better ones are quite pricey though. I did eye up a Huion Kamvas tablet with screen recently as a cheaper alternative to Wacom but it also needs to be plugged into a Linix/Windows/Apple/Android device.

I'm no professional but I do like messing with art apps on my Galaxy Tab S8+ with Pen. It was quite a bit cheaper than an equivalent iPad too. I've mainly used Autodesk Sketchbook but I understand a lot of Apple users like Procreate which is not available on Android. So depending on your app of choice you might be pushed down the Apple route.

3. mrlongbeard

mrlongbeard Multimodder

Daughter graduated this year with a graphic design degree.
    She went through the course and the art / photography college course before with one of these https://www.storexppen.co.uk/series/artist-series-display.html , a laptop and an Adobe subscription, but then she was dead set against getting into the Apple ecosystem for some reason

4. fix-the-spade

fix-the-spade Multimodder