1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress Tetris, May 2009

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by a.cowen, 19 May 2009.

1. a.cowen

a.cowen Plastic Fantastic

Hi, my name is Aidan and I'm a 22 year old student.

As this is my first case mod I have the worklog on a few sites so please comment with any ideas or advice, I'm sure everything will be usefull for future mods (and believe me I have a ton of ideas in my sketchbook)

May 15th:

This is my first full case mod, starting with a Compaq Evo case, very similiar to this one:

[​IMG]

The idea for this mod comes from my fiancee, who suggested a Tetris theme. I originally planned a big window on the side with the look of a tetris game, as this rough mock up in SketchUp shows (again, first time with this program):

[​IMG]

But alas, this was never to be. Unfortunately the Compaq had these awfull cooling vents along the side, which had to be covered up.

After stripping the Compaq down to its shell (grr, I hate pop rivets) I decided I would like to move the hard drive enclosure down to the floor of the unit, and covert it to a 3.5" drive, suitable for a SSD at some point, as this is going to be a gaming machine. I really love the form factor of SSD's and that you can squish them in almost anywhere.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I also cut away the stock fan guard as is was fugly and made it into a ninja death star, yay. I'm planning on adding an 120mm intake fan to the front, turbine style.

[​IMG]

I cut away a vent hole in the side panel and backed it with AC Ryan mesh, and eventually I'll get some U-bend piping to neaten it up. I don't have my file's untill tomorrow so everything is a bit rough.

[​IMG]

You can see the cut away where the tetris blocks will be. I'm going to cut out the squares like this:

[​IMG]