1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which AMD CPU/Mobo combo?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Lord Nikon, 20 Aug 2005.

1. Lord Nikon

Lord Nikon What's a Dremel?

ok
    so apparently a lot of ppl told me to go for AMD rather then Intel which is probably what i am going to do unless some more ppl say intel is better. ok so now i dunno which processor to get i found these two....an AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ or an AMD Athlon 64 4000+(claw hammer) now i dont know much about AMD so i need someone to tell me which one should I get and why and about the motherboard i think i am going to buy the DFI Motherboard LAN Party NF4 SLI-DR...is that a good choice for an AMD or what???? :confused: help me lol cuz i am an AMD noob lol

2. Krikkit

Krikkit All glory to the hypnotoad! Super Moderator

The A64-X2 is about the best all-round processor you can buy at the moment. It's a good choice; as for the DFI SLI-DR, it's the bee's knees of S939 mobo's at the moment, it clocks like mad and has plenty of features.

Both are bloody good buys atm. :)

3. RTT

RTT #parp

Edited thread title to be a bit more specific :)

4. Lord Nikon

thanx man

thanx man for the help its koo that u changed the name i was typing too fast when i did it i had no topic well apparently i will get those too so koo =]

5. RotoSequence

RotoSequence Lazy Lurker

It really depends what you want as well; great performance when mulitasking or rediculous single thread perofmrance with less multitasking abilities?

6. robbybertu15

robbybertu15 <b>needs a job</b>

Why would he need to buy an SLI motherboard if he didn't say he was going to be using SLI?
    If your a novice don't go with DFI.

7. Rh1n0x

Rh1n0x What's a Dremel?

maybe you should wait until crossfire hits mainstream, I heard it's all raining down in september.