1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Equipment Which lens?

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by swanseasa2, 19 Mar 2011.

1. swanseasa2

swanseasa2 What's a Dremel?

Hi, I am very new to all the photography lark hence needing your help!

Id really like to get a macro lens and a wide angle lens. Iv found two which are in my price range, except I dont really understand what all the numbers mean; if they are any good; and if they will fit my camera (Canon Eos 400D).

The wideangle lens is a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS Lens http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=220699415710&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

The macro lens is a Canon EF 28-105mm F3.5-4.5 USM Macro Mark I SLR Lens http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270721621582&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

Any advice would be appreciated before I part with my hard earned money :D

Thanks guys

2. Vers

Vers ...

The 28-105 will not give you true macro (1:1), despite the word being used in the lens' name. You can add a close up filter and or extension tubes to get you closer however you might not even get 1:1 by doing so. The 18-55IS is decent enough for what it is, however it's relatively slow both in terms of AF speed and aperture. However, it may work just fine for you.

What is your budget?

3. swanseasa2

my budget is as cheap as possible! im a Masters student earning £300 a month with £450 outgoing each month! :p you can see the dilema lol

4. Gryphon

Gryphon What's a Dremel?

I have the 28-105 on my 550D and if your after close up macro shots, its not the lens you want at all.

I'm relatively new to photography too, and am not 100% sure what Vers means by 1:1, but in as much as getting as close to subjects as possible, the kit 18-55 IS is much better (af is annoyingly slow though).

As far as what will fit your camera, any EF or EF-S lens will, so both of those would.