1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What should I study?

Discussion in 'Serious' started by hirezo, 24 Dec 2010.

1. hirezo

hirezo Minimodder

Ok so I've decided next September that I'm going to University.

I would like to think that after studying Games Design I could get a job within a dev team. Thing is I dont just want to be 'stuck' in one section of the computer industry for the rest of my life.

SO... do you think it would be best that I studied Computer Science instead??? Are any of you guys/gals studying this at the moment or have studied it???

TIA :thumb:

2. Pieface

Pieface Modder

I used to be told that hardly anyone gets a job in the industry with Games Design.

3. ccxo

ccxo On top of a hill

If ure going to go to uni choose a subject that you like to do and will be motivated to do.

Then look at different uni's to see what they are like and what there courses are like then apply.

4. hirezo

hirezo Minimodder

5. Bakes

Bakes What's a Dremel?

Please, for your own sake stay away from anything with the word 'game' in. The UK is crap for game design (apart from indie firms which are usually just 5 friends in a basement), and thanks to Call of Duty the job market is about to turn from 'tricky-impossible' to '5+ years experience only'. It's already pretty much at that stage.

At the moment, the influx of people into 'game design' courses is massive, and more universities are offering them. I just had a quick scroll of UCAS, and there are 241 courses with the word 'game' in. Now, let's be extremely cautious, and say that 10 people are applying for each one. Some there'll be more for, some are indistinct (such as game design and computing, maths and game design, etc). Let's also remove 41. It makes a nice round number of 200.