1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Graphics HD5970 'Fixed all problems with latest official BIOS' (Added latest vBIOS in post #1)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Guest-44432, 7 Apr 2010.

1. ElGreco

ElGreco What's a Dremel?

Look, I am not an expert but all the data you have given us and especially the fact that the card used to work fine until you installed latest drivers, simply leads me to the conclusion of a driver mess-up in your system.

Driver sweeper is good but i do not know how deep it cleans in case of problematic installations.

Now, regarding the PSU, just make sure that you have distributed the power supply correctly. I do not know the exact model of your PSU so I do not know the amount of Amp each 12V rail can handle. Check your PSU manual and distribute the Amperes of your PSUs 12v Rail equally.

Still, I am more concerned about your software/driver setup and not that much about your hardware config.

2. JAMMUR

JAMMUR OMG

I really do appreciate your help mate :thumb: although I am using my laptop for these forums I keep trying everything I can.... I had a 20 pin to 24 pin 'EXTENSION' cable from my PSU to my Motherboard just to to stop the PSU connector from stretching too much so I used that to give it some slack, I have removed it about 20 mins ago and put the 24 Pin cable from the PSU directly into it and I have to say after 20 MINS everything is stable I have even ran FURMARK !! :rock:

I suspect now that this 'EXTENSION' cable was causing possibly a short circuit and I only just realised that it was only getting 20 of the 24 pins !! I'm going to keep it on for an hour before bed and hopefully no problems !!

I'll keep you updated !:D

I have also noticed that the 2D clock is going from 157/300 to 550/1000 so it is varying without problems !

Also I changed back to the XFX 1.2 BIOS !!

Cheers again

JAMMUR

Last edited: 13 Sep 2010
  3. ElGreco