1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Discussion in 'Serious' started by Guest-18698, 10 Dec 2009.

?

Uni - what did you do?

Poll closed 9 Jan 2010.
  1. completed degree

32 vote(s)
    56.1%
  2. never been/ going to uni

13 vote(s)
    22.8%
  3. didnt complete degree (quit, left for what ever reason)

9 vote(s)
    15.8%
  4. other form of qualification/s?

3 vote(s)
    5.3%
  1. Guest-18698

Guest-18698 Guest

Last edited by a moderator: 5 Feb 2024
  2. MacWalka

MacWalka What's a Dremel?

I did a degree in Chemical Engineering, spent 5 years and got an MEng with Distinction at the end of it. Went when I was 17 and graduated at 22 last year.

Was definitely worth it: got a good job, let me buy a new car, now saving for a home. Most importantly, I do generally enjoy my job, I have the usual period where I hate it but not many people love their jobs constantly.

3. sesterfield

sesterfield What's a Dremel?

I haven't graduated yet, but would definitely recommend a placement year. I certainly learnt more about what I wanted to do in that year than at any other time :)

4. Bufo802

Bufo802 Minimodder

I'm currently applying to read chemical engineering at the moment, where did you study MacWalka?

5. saspro

saspro IT monkey

what did you do? : BA(Hons.) Music Technology

was it worth it/ not worth it : Probably worth it. I met loads of useful people & partied hard.

what are the main benefits of doing a degree? Booze, fags & dirty mags

how old were you? are you now? Started at 18, finished at 21. I'm now 29 & technical manager at an IT company

6. CardJoe

CardJoe Freelance Journalist

Jesus Christ I'm getting sick of these threads.

supermonkey likes this.
  7. supermonkey

supermonkey Deal with it

Watch it, Joe.

[​IMG]

8. Pookeyhead

Pookeyhead It's big, and it's clever.

what did you do? Photography

was it worth it/ not worth it?

Yes

what are the main benefits of doing a degree?