1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adblock or not...

Discussion in 'Serious' started by BentAnat, 8 Sep 2008.

1. BentAnat

BentAnat Software Dev

Hmmm... interesting discussion (potentially) to be had here... brought along by the memory of some incidents and some comments made here.

AdBlock plus. (or whatever they call it).
    There's 2 sides to this argument: 1) i am the user, and i should be able to chose whether or not i view ads. Therefore, there's nothing wrong with installing Ad blocking software.
    2) I am a web developer, and advertising pays for my site, that's why i can afford to deliver information, pictures, video, etc for free. From this perspective it's NOT acceptable. For that matter, if i had a site that was ad-paid, i'd block users that run adblock (there are scripts available), thus violating their right to information. However, people viewing sites that are paid for by ads while blocking the ad is (IMO) equal to flatout piracy...

2. oasked

oasked Stuck in (better) mud

Adblock for all other sites apart from Bit-Tech. :D

3. BentAnat

BentAnat Software Dev

LOL.
    Sure, i could live with that, but as someone that makes part of his livelihood on the internet, i see this as destructive towards the free information nature of the web... if more people adapt adblock, sites will a) display more ads (more impressions=more cash), which in turn will lead to more people using adblock and b) start blocking people with adblock...

it's a bit of a violation on either side of the coin, but i'd rather alienate 3 viewers to my sites than have to charge the other 100.

4. notatoad

notatoad pretty fing wonderful

i adblock by default, so that blogspam from reddit and stuff isn't giving me ads. any website that i visit with any frequency gets whitelisted, any website with obnoxious ads gets blocked again. flashblock blocks flash ads on all sites, even bit.

5. Hiren