1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Peripherals New to mechanical keyboards

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by forquare, 19 Jun 2014.

1. forquare

forquare What's a Dremel?

Good morning all,

I'm new to mechanical keyboards, and I'm looking for one for work. I've been issued with two laptops and I'm just not getting on with the keyboards (Dell Latitude E5400 and Levovo B5400).
    I'm mostly going to be using the keyboard for typing, and a fair amount of that will be done on the command line (SSH to linux boxes). The laptops are fairly locked down, to the poit I can't install software, or change keyboard layouts :/

Having had a limited chat to someone at work who is fairly new to this area also, I think that I'm looking for Cherry brown switches, full sized keyboard, with broadly a UK layout (it's always handy being able to easily print £, but I'm mainly a Mac user, so am used to @ being on the 2, etc). One thing I would really like is for Ctrl to be next to A, either as standard, or via a dip switch (the ability to switch alt/winkey would also be nice as I could later use it on a Mac, should I wish).

I've had a look around, but I need advice as I've stumbled across Ducky keyboards, and I now have tunnel vision...The Ducky Premier Green/Cream keyboard is really appealing visually to me, but doesn't allow me to swap ctrl/caps. I've also seen the Ducky Shine 2, but it's probably more flashy than I need for work :p

I'm happy to put £100 down for a keyboard, and if a really good suggestion comes along I might be tempted to add a bit to that, but probably no more than £50. Can anyone suggest something that, currently to me, fits my odd wishes?

Many thanks,
    Ben

2. Margo Baggins

Margo Baggins I'm good at Soldering Super Moderator