1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Not another windows 7 thread

Discussion in 'Software' started by Spafe, 17 Nov 2009.

1. Spafe

Spafe What's a Dremel?

Right, currently I own a laptop and desktop. My laptop is running Vista Home Premium at the moment, however, came with windows XP Professional installed and such I have this CD key sitting idle.

My desktop has been running windows 7 RC for quite a while now and I have come to like it and as such am looking to formalise this.

As a student I have the option to purchase the UPGRADE version Windows 7 Home Premium and Professional for the same price.

If I am not mistaken I would need a previous home/professional CD key in order to make this legitimate. As mentioned I have my XP one still available. I have no problems buying it, however, as a poor student; my question is that:

My flatmate has already got an upgrade DVD for Windows 7 Professional. Can I simply use his and insert my old XP serial?

2. Tulatin

Tulatin The Froggy Poster

Don't use upgrade media. Really. You'll be forced to have a previous OS installed. Meaning every time you want to "Upgrade" to 7, you need to load XP or Vista first.

Second, an XP key is valid for XP, and XP alone. You can't use it for 7. You'll need a 7 serial for that. If you're a student, have a sulk about MSDNAA - you should be able to get W7-Pro for the equivalent of $30.

3. kenco_uk

kenco_uk I unsuccessfully then tried again

What you can't do is use your XP key in place of a Win7 key, if that's what you're asking.

Btw, do you need to have an OS installed first?

I remember with 98 and XP, if you were using an upgrade XP CD, you could use it to perform a fresh install and it'd only ask to read the 98 cd momentarily.

4. PureSilver

PureSilver E-tailer Tailor