Small Form Factor Thread for the thin mini ITX builds

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sonicgroove, 13 Jan 2018.

  1. lancer778544

    lancer778544 isnt really an ultramodder...

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    2,643
    Likes Received:
    262
    An unexpected bill has come up gents so I'm forced to sell the build I just did, thread is in the marketplace if anyone is interested in it, I'm only after £120 for it - what I paid for it parts wise.
     
  2. TheMadDutchDude

    TheMadDutchDude Flying Dutchman

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2013
    Posts:
    3,662
    Likes Received:
    182
    That’s a bargain. Shame it won’t fit what I need inside or I’d take it. :(
     
  3. Arboreal

    Arboreal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    69
    Sad news, sorry to hear that mate. Bloomin' bills, a horrible time of year for all that.
    Looks a great rig, someone's in for a treat.
     
  4. TheMadDutchDude

    TheMadDutchDude Flying Dutchman

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2013
    Posts:
    3,662
    Likes Received:
    182
    Arboreal likes this.
  5. Arboreal

    Arboreal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    69
    Your latest haul is all looking good TMDD :grin:
    I think you needed a larger CPU cooler though...
     
    TheMadDutchDude likes this.
  6. TheMadDutchDude

    TheMadDutchDude Flying Dutchman

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2013
    Posts:
    3,662
    Likes Received:
    182
    Oh jeez, you really do not want to see behind the camera. It’s a friggin’ mess. :D

    Here’s why the board is sitting so high off of my desk (which is changing soon as well) ... it’s one of every single Chromax part they offer.

    https://imgur.com/gallery/V1teB

    I have a cooler for it that’s more HTPC suitable, which is also from Noctua... they seem to love me in the States. :)
     
  7. The_Crapman

    The_Crapman Don't phone it's just for fun.

    Joined:
    5 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    2,816
    Likes Received:
    145
    I'm gonna need a smaller boat...
    [​IMG]
    :hehe::hehe::hehe::hehe:
     
    sonicgroove, Mankz, adidan and 2 others like this.
  8. lancer778544

    lancer778544 isnt really an ultramodder...

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    2,643
    Likes Received:
    262
    Plenty of room for cable management though!
     
  9. Vault-Tec

    Vault-Tec Green Plastic Watering Can

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2015
    Posts:
    7,035
    Likes Received:
    253
    Sod that fill it with rads, reservoirs and god knows what else :D
     
  10. Arboreal

    Arboreal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    69
  11. The_Crapman

    The_Crapman Don't phone it's just for fun.

    Joined:
    5 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    2,816
    Likes Received:
    145
    Well it is getting the dual loop set up in my sig along with adding in another fan controller, both of which will have blocks on. Still a bit much though, will be downsizing later this year hopefully.
     
    Arboreal likes this.
  12. TheMadDutchDude

    TheMadDutchDude Flying Dutchman

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2013
    Posts:
    3,662
    Likes Received:
    182
    It seems that not all is well with that ITX board. It keeps blue screening with two sticks of memory, though I’m unable to narrow it down to the memory or the board just yet.

    I’ve now got the NTFS File System Error every attempted boot. So time for a reinstall and to find a smaller CPU cooler than this Noctua one that’s on there. It’s too big anyway as it overhangs the PCI-E slot. :(
     
  13. TheMadDutchDude

    TheMadDutchDude Flying Dutchman

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2013
    Posts:
    3,662
    Likes Received:
    182
    And after hours of messing around, even resorting to trying another board... it turns out that the memory I was using has some weird compatibility issue with this system. ****!!

    Thank goodness for having various DDR3 kits laying around. Haha!

    Edit:

    I figured I’d try some of the original memory once again to see if it works, purely out of curiosity... and it damned well does. Phew. Now I don’t need to use my high-end memory for a DVR. :D

    So weird....
     
    Last edited: 15 Feb 2018
  14. Arboreal

    Arboreal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    69
    Good stuff, nice to see you over on SFFN

    That's a relief, something got straightened out in the process.
     
  15. TheMadDutchDude

    TheMadDutchDude Flying Dutchman

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2013
    Posts:
    3,662
    Likes Received:
    182
    It was the weirdest thing, though. It wasn’t even able to install Windows without crashing about 7-12% into the copying of files. I used really high-end PSC based memory, though running at 1333, just like the other sticks that were Elpida Hyper and some other Micron junk, and it worked flawlessly. So I swapped back to the Micron sticks (XMS3) and when it would previously fall over in less than 15 seconds, it now ran for 20 minutes without flaw.

    The second extremely strange thing, which lead me to believe the board or CPU was bad, and given that the board was in a job lot of “faulty” boards, that was my thought. It was dropping memory a memory channel and somehow only detecting 1GB instead of 4GB, even though they were 2GB sticks. It blows my mind how it sorted itself out... but hey ho. That’s the way of PCs. :D
     
  16. Byron C

    Byron C Somewhere between the sacred silence and sleep

    Joined:
    12 Apr 2002
    Posts:
    4,658
    Likes Received:
    213
    I finally got around to swapping out my rust spinner with an SSD earlier - god I've missed having an SSD...!

    It was surprisingly easy to do (caveat: I'm running Ubuntu, not Windows). I just used a GParted live USB to copy the partitions from the original drive in a USB3 enclosure to the SATA-connected SSD (after first shrinking the partition size to ensure partitions from a 320GB HDD would fit on a 128GB SSD). I tried that a few weeks ago and had all sorts of errors when I tried to boot the system; I thought I was going to have to muck around re-installing GRUB using an Ubuntu live USB, so I've been putting it off for a while... I think the key step was making sure I'm using the same partition table types on both disks: I didn't do that last time, so I must have tried to copy partitions from a disk using GPT to a disk using MBR - no wonder the bootloader had a hissy fit... This time GRUB didn't whine at all, it just booted straight back into my OS. I really didn't want to have to re-install GRUB: Ubuntu tries to use the LVDS connector as the primary display and the only way to stop permanently it is to edit the GRUB parameters. It's not fun trying to login when the login window is being rendered on a display that doesn't exist!

    I'd still much rather use an mSATA SSD than a 2.5" drive but any SSD is better than a clapped-out old rust spinner!
     
  17. nimbu

    nimbu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    28 Nov 2002
    Posts:
    1,806
    Likes Received:
    29
    Just put my OSMI up on the MP. Im not going to use it any time soon.

    One a side note on these thin boards we bought, I dont appear to have any 19V PSU's all the ones I have are 19.5V Do we think that would be ok?
     
  18. TheMadDutchDude

    TheMadDutchDude Flying Dutchman

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2013
    Posts:
    3,662
    Likes Received:
    182
    It’ll be fine, yeah. It’s within the 5% tolerance range.
     
  19. nimbu

    nimbu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    28 Nov 2002
    Posts:
    1,806
    Likes Received:
    29
    Finally got to putting together the bits for this build. I had a 1u itx case sitting around (you know as you do....) so put it together quickly in there to fire it up.

    So far I have the:

    The silverstone cooler I mentioned above
    8GB RAM DDR3L SO-DIMM 1600
    Intel i5-4590T
    256Gb Samsung SM841 mSata
    Dell 19.5V / 4.62A PSU

    The PSU connector feels longer than it should but works fine.

    System booted up easily without any issues.
     
    Arboreal likes this.
  20. TheMadDutchDude

    TheMadDutchDude Flying Dutchman

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2013
    Posts:
    3,662
    Likes Received:
    182
    For anyone that might run a similar setup to me in the future with the FM2 CPU, then, for the love of those sacred things... turn off channel rank interleaving. That was the broken part of the system all along.
     

Share This Page