1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Z68 First Build Advice

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rainbowfication, 20 Jun 2011.

1. rainbowfication

rainbowfication What's a Dremel?

hi all,

im looking buy new custom pc first build so im a newbie. i have an idea of what i want(what i thinks right) and tell me what you think and if any alternatives, all help is great. p.s probably buing from scan

Budget:
    around £1200 max
    Main uses of intended build:
    the main uses of the build would be gaming but i will also be using to edit videos watching videos this computer will be hooked up to my 42" samsung tv using hdmi
    Parts required:
    complete build but no peripherals
    Storage requirements:
    about 1tb
    Will you be overclocking:
    yes i would like to although I have no knowledge how to yet but will be reading up

Mobo:
    asus Maximus IV Gene-z
    Or
    asus P8Z68-v PRO
    i contacted scan to find out about the gene-z and will availible 7th of july and will be 125.84 ex VAT so both mobo's are around £150
    Processor:
    I7-2600k
    £242
    Cooler:
    be quite! dark rock Pro
    £53
    Ram:
    Vengeance LP 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
    £72
    Graphics:
    MSi GTX 560 titwin frozr II
    £191
    Maybe SLI in the future
    Power supply:
    Not to sure with this but i think that this will be ok
    Corsair HX 750W Modular
    HDD:
    1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
    £42
    SSD:
    OCZ Agility 3 120GB SSD
    £169
    DVD drive:
    22x DVD Writer SAMSUNG
    £14
    Case:
    coolmaster haf x
    £130
    Total:
    £1190

thanks for any help :thumb:

2. Baz

Baz I work for Corsair

A Bit to fix here;

Mobo: Unless you're definitely using the niche hybrid graphics and RST SSD cache, Z68 isn't worth it. Go P67. The MSI GD-53 is our board of preference. It'll overclock brilliantly and is feature rich, while costing just £108.