1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Displays 23' or 24' inch monitor for £140

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dramatik, 19 Feb 2011.

1. dramatik

dramatik Minimodder

Hey guys, recently built my own pc but i've been using the crappy monitor i've had for 6 years!. any recommendations. will be gaming mainly at 1920x1080 and watching high def films. cheers.

Last edited: 19 Feb 2011
  2. Jehla

Jehla Minimodder

Thats pretty specific, 1920x1200 is not very common. Ebuyer only have one in the £100-£200 price range. Considered dropping down to 1080?

3. Ph4ZeD

Ph4ZeD What's a Dremel?

Very much doubt you will get one at that resolution for £140.

4. dramatik

dramatik Minimodder

5. GoodBytes

GoodBytes How many wifi's does it have?

Sadly, for 140 pounds you still are in the "crappy" monitor land.
    The entrance fee for good monitors range starts at 250-280 pounds. I kid you not.
    TN based LCD panels make monitors laughably inexpensive, at the cost of everything.

what is considered "good" monitors are IPS or PVA panels, which start at about 260 pounds and can go up to several thousands of dollars, depending on how good the monitor is.

Why so expensive?
    Actually, if you compare prices of monitor technology, they didn't move much. The only branched that separated and drooped significantly to unbelievable levels is TN based LCD monitors. In Canada, the price of my excellent Dell U2410 monitor on special at 500$ was what I paid my 17inch CRT monitor back in 02-03, granted it was a good CRT monitor, the same as my current LCD screen, but the price did not change. Well it doped in fact, as now I have a 24inch, and have all the connection that someone could possibly want (well almost), and crazy features like side-by-side Picture-in-Picture so view 2 inputs at the same time, side-by-side.