1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motors US vs EU: Who's best (no flaming)

Discussion in 'General' started by losermeetsworld, 18 May 2006.

1. Altron

Altron Minimodder

A quick trip to chevrolet.com - the corvette has four wheel independant suspension with 'transverse composite springs'.
    ford.com - Yep, the Mustang has fancy coil springs and macpherson struts and shock absorbers and all that jazz.

2. Piratetaco

Piratetaco is always right

[​IMG]

i'm no automotive engineer(yet) but those look like LEAFSPRINGS to me

and the stang has a live rear axle

3. warchild

warchild What's a Dremel?

You don't have to prove nothing...in fact, you just said it all. :duh:

4. ufk

ufk Licenced Fool

Last time I saw transverse leafsprings not on a commercial vehicle was on a fiat 127 (1970's) and possibly a truimph GT6(1960's), not exactly modern suspension design and it definitely has no place on a so called sports car built in the 21st century, all they've done is replace the old tempered steel with a composite material which is probably glass fibre based

And as for the argument that MAN trucks use leafsprings, they do but only on the front axle not the rear which is where they are usually employed
    [​IMG]
    taken straight from MAN trucks spec sheet

Last edited: 28 May 2006
  5. Altron

Altron Minimodder

I don't see any leaf springs, just macpherson struts with coil springs.

[​IMG]
    Leaf Spring.

[​IMG]
    Macpherson strut.

I dunno, but your pic looks far more like a Macpherson strut.

6. NiHiLiST

NiHiLiST New-born car whore

Altron, the black strip that Piratetaco helpfully labelled is the leaf spring. It is just mounted transversally rather than longitudinally. That is the "transverse composite springs" that the website mentions.

7. ufk

ufk Licenced Fool